Your web-browser is very outdated, and as such, this website may not display properly. Please consider upgrading to a modern, faster and more secure browser. Click here to do so.

Willmar Library Teens

Catch up on the happenings at the library from the comfort of your own dash.
Oct 13 '14
mollymwetta:

I keep getting inquiries for read-alikes for Ellen Hopkins books. So I made a list, and tried to include a balance of novels in verse and problem/issue novels, new releases, award winners, and easier reads. See the annotated list here. 

mollymwetta:

I keep getting inquiries for read-alikes for Ellen Hopkins books. So I made a list, and tried to include a balance of novels in verse and problem/issue novels, new releases, award winners, and easier reads. See the annotated list here

Oct 10 '14

diversityinya:

diversityinya:

10 YA Fantasy/Science Fiction Novels About Latino Characters

This DiYA book list has been going around again on Tumblr, probably because it’s Hispanic Heritage Month, so we are happy to reblog it again too!

(Also note this Ask re: the terms Latino vs. Hispanic)

Oct 3 '14
It’s time for some random reads! The only thing that ties these together is their graphic novel format. See any that catch your eye?
Children of the Sea
When Ruka was younger, she saw a ghost in the water at the aquarium where her dad works. Now she feels drawn toward the aquarium and the two mysterious boys she meets there, Umi and Sora. They were raised by dugongs and hear the same strange calls from the sea as she does.Ruka’s dad and the other adults who work at the aquarium are only distantly aware of what the children are experiencing as they get caught up in the mystery of the worldwide disappearance of the oceans’ fish.
Betty and Veronica’s Princess Storybook
Betty and Veronica, along with Archie, Jughead and friends, return to take on more of your favorite fairytales in this follow-up to the popular Betty & Veronica Storybook! Betty & Veronica’s Princess Storybook is the irresistable combination of classic fairytales and two of the most iconic characters in comic book history. Betty and Veronica portray famous princesses from stories including Rapunzel, Beauty & the Beast, Snow White, and The Little Mermaid, all with the patented Archie brand of fun and charm!
Nabari No Ou
Unbeknownst to him, junior high student Mirhaur Rokujou, who is content to live without a care in the world, possesses the power inside him to control the entire world—an art know as Shinra Banshou…
Wonder Woman
 Hippolyta, queen of the Amazons, has kept a secret from her daughter all her life – and when Wonder Woman learns who her father is, her life will shatter like brittle clay. The only one more shocked than Diana by this revelation? Bloodthirsty Hera – so why is her sinister daughter, Strife, so eager for the truth to be told?
Anya’s Ghost
Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn’t kidding about the “Forever” part.
Of all the things Anya expected to find at the bottom of an old well, a new friend was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who’s been dead for a century.
Falling down a well is bad enough, but Anya’s normal life might actually be worse. She’s embarrassed by her family, self-conscious about her body, and she’s pretty much given up on fitting in at school. A new friend—even a ghost—is just what she needs.
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man
The Daily Bugle is on the hunt to find out everything they can about the new Spider-Man…but what they discover will surprise them, you - and him! Then: Venom Wars begins! Miles Morales finally has his costume, his web-shooters, and now he has his first A-list Spider-Man villain…there’s a new Venom in town, and he’s hungry! But who exactly is the new Venom, and what is his terrible connection to Miles’ father?
The Great American Dust Bowl
A speck of dust is a tiny thing. In fact, five of them could fit into the period at the end of this sentence.On a clear, warm Sunday, April 14, 1935, a wild wind whipped up millions upon millions of these specks of dust to form a duster—a savage storm—on America’s high southern plains.The sky turned black, sand-filled winds scoured the paint off houses and cars, trains derailed, and electricity coursed through the air. Sand and dirt fell like snow—people got lost in the gloom and suffocated … and that was just the beginning.
Yummy
In August of 1994, 11-year-old Robert “Yummy” Sandifer — nicknamed for his love of sweets — fired a gun at a group of rival gangmembers, accidentally killing a neighborhood girl, Shavon Dean. Police searched Chicago’s southside for three days before finding Yummy dead in a railway tunnel, killed by members of the drug gang he’d sought to impress. The story made such an impact that Yummy appeared on the cover of TIME magazine, drawing national attention to the problems of inner city youth in America.
Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty relives the confusion of these traumatic days from the point of view of Roger, a neighborhood boy who struggles to understand the senseless violence swirling through the streets around him. Awakened by the tragedy, Roger seeks out answers to difficult questions — was Yummy a killer or a victim? Was he responsible for his actions or are others to blame?
Shadow Hero
In the comics boom of the 1940s, a legend was born: the Green Turtle. He solved crimes and fought injustice just like the other comics characters. But this mysterious masked crusader was hiding something more than your run-of-the-mill secret identity… The Green Turtle was the first Asian American super hero.The comic had a short run before lapsing into obscurity, but the acclaimed author of “American Born Chinese,” Gene Luen Yang, has finally revived this character in “Shadow Hero,” a new graphic novel that creates an origin story for the Green Turtle.

*The following book descriptions are taken from Goodreads but the titles link to our catalog.
Enjoy!

It’s time for some random reads! The only thing that ties these together is their graphic novel format. See any that catch your eye?

Children of the Sea

When Ruka was younger, she saw a ghost in the water at the aquarium where her dad works. Now she feels drawn toward the aquarium and the two mysterious boys she meets there, Umi and Sora. They were raised by dugongs and hear the same strange calls from the sea as she does.Ruka’s dad and the other adults who work at the aquarium are only distantly aware of what the children are experiencing as they get caught up in the mystery of the worldwide disappearance of the oceans’ fish.

Betty and Veronica’s Princess Storybook

Betty and Veronica, along with Archie, Jughead and friends, return to take on more of your favorite fairytales in this follow-up to the popular Betty & Veronica StorybookBetty & Veronica’s Princess Storybook is the irresistable combination of classic fairytales and two of the most iconic characters in comic book history. Betty and Veronica portray famous princesses from stories including RapunzelBeauty & the BeastSnow White, and The Little Mermaid, all with the patented Archie brand of fun and charm!

Nabari No Ou

Unbeknownst to him, junior high student Mirhaur Rokujou, who is content to live without a care in the world, possesses the power inside him to control the entire world—an art know as Shinra Banshou…

Wonder Woman

 Hippolyta, queen of the Amazons, has kept a secret from her daughter all her life – and when Wonder Woman learns who her father is, her life will shatter like brittle clay. The only one more shocked than Diana by this revelation? Bloodthirsty Hera – so why is her sinister daughter, Strife, so eager for the truth to be told?

Anya’s Ghost

Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn’t kidding about the “Forever” part.


Of all the things Anya expected to find at the bottom of an old well, a new friend was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who’s been dead for a century.


Falling down a well is bad enough, but Anya’s normal life might actually be worse. She’s embarrassed by her family, self-conscious about her body, and she’s pretty much given up on fitting in at school. A new friend—even a ghost—is just what she needs.

Ultimate Comics Spider-Man

The Daily Bugle is on the hunt to find out everything they can about the new Spider-Man…but what they discover will surprise them, you - and him! Then: Venom Wars begins! Miles Morales finally has his costume, his web-shooters, and now he has his first A-list Spider-Man villain…there’s a new Venom in town, and he’s hungry! But who exactly is the new Venom, and what is his terrible connection to Miles’ father?

The Great American Dust Bowl

A speck of dust is a tiny thing. In fact, five of them could fit into the period at the end of this sentence.

On a clear, warm Sunday, April 14, 1935, a wild wind whipped up millions upon millions of these specks of dust to form a duster—a savage storm—on America’s high southern plains.

The sky turned black, sand-filled winds scoured the paint off houses and cars, trains derailed, and electricity coursed through the air. Sand and dirt fell like snow—people got lost in the gloom and suffocated … and that was just the beginning.

Yummy

In August of 1994, 11-year-old Robert “Yummy” Sandifer — nicknamed for his love of sweets — fired a gun at a group of rival gangmembers, accidentally killing a neighborhood girl, Shavon Dean. Police searched Chicago’s southside for three days before finding Yummy dead in a railway tunnel, killed by members of the drug gang he’d sought to impress. The story made such an impact that Yummy appeared on the cover of TIME magazine, drawing national attention to the problems of inner city youth in America.


Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty relives the confusion of these traumatic days from the point of view of Roger, a neighborhood boy who struggles to understand the senseless violence swirling through the streets around him. Awakened by the tragedy, Roger seeks out answers to difficult questions — was Yummy a killer or a victim? Was he responsible for his actions or are others to blame?

Shadow Hero

In the comics boom of the 1940s, a legend was born: the Green Turtle. He solved crimes and fought injustice just like the other comics characters. But this mysterious masked crusader was hiding something more than your run-of-the-mill secret identity… The Green Turtle was the first Asian American super hero.

The comic had a short run before lapsing into obscurity, but the acclaimed author of “American Born Chinese,” Gene Luen Yang, has finally revived this character in “Shadow Hero,” a new graphic novel that creates an origin story for the Green Turtle.

*The following book descriptions are taken from Goodreads but the titles link to our catalog.

Enjoy!

Sep 19 '14

butinmyotherlife:

All of these quotes are from actual challenges I found online.

Banned Books Week is coming up on Sept. 21-27! Celebrate by going to your local library and checking out a banned or challenged book. Your librarian would love to help you.

Sep 10 '14
We’ll have Wii games, computer labs, and a multitude of games available to play this Friday. Don’t miss out!

We’ll have Wii games, computer labs, and a multitude of games available to play this Friday. Don’t miss out!

Sep 3 '14
Since school is back in session we thought a STEM reading display was appropriate.
For those who don’t know, STEM stands for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.
Enjoy these excellent reads!

Since school is back in session we thought a STEM reading display was appropriate.

For those who don’t know, STEM stands for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.

Enjoy these excellent reads!

Sep 2 '14

Anime Club tonight at 6:30!

Aug 18 '14

Anime Club tonight at 6:30!

Aug 8 '14
Teen movie today @ 3Pm! Rated PG-13. Snacks provided!

Teen movie today @ 3Pm! Rated PG-13. Snacks provided!

Aug 5 '14

Teen Anime Club tonight at 6:30!